The Day of Surgery

     The morning of surgery started off a bit more hectic than I had originally planned. My mother in law banged on my door at 5:25 am. We had all slept through our alarms and I was supposed to be at the hospital for 5:30.
      Luckily I had packed everything for my hospital stay the night before; minus a few last minute things (like my cellphone charger).  I grabbed the couple things and thew on the clothes I had laid out for myself the night before and my mother in law, sister in law, my fiancé’s aunt and I all rushed to the hospital. On the way,  I called to the unit that I was supposed to be going to and told them that I was on the way but 30 minutes or so away still. 


     Not how I wanted to start the morning. 


     When we pulled up to the hospital, my mother in law dropped me off at the doors and I ran upstairs. They quickly ushered me into a room and gave me a hospital gown and compression stockings to change into. 


     Robert made it up to the room that I was in and was able to sit with me for a few minutes until the porters came to take me to the surgical unit. We gave our hugs and kisses as family members poked their heads in to wish me well. 


     The porters then wheeled me into the pre-surgical area and “parked” me in a row full of people. We were all lined up in our beds, side by side, like cars in a parking lot. 


     The anesthesiologist was the first to come by and see me. He introduced himself and discussed with me what to expect when I go in. Similar to any surgery, I was going to be brought in and they would put a mask over my face that would put me to sleep in a matter of seconds and I would remain asleep until brought to the recovery room after the surgery. Pretty straight forward. 


     A nurse came to see me next, to put in my IV and she did get it in on the first try. Now I was just waiting for the surgeon to come by and have me sign the final consent form for surgery and then I would be brought in. 


     I was the last patient in the lineup to be taken into my operating room. I knew what to expect when I was brought in, as I had a few surgeries prior, so it was not intimidating for me. The room was filled with bright lights, machines, equipment, tables of surgical instruments, and about 8-10 people (2 doctors, the anesthesiologist, and multiple nurses). 
    The moments following surgery were a bit of a blur. Unlike my previous surgeries, I don’t remember being in the recovery room. My first memories are actually of the porter wheeling me to my unit, where I passed family members in the waiting room on the way. 
     I was pleasantly surprised to have been given one of the couple of private rooms on the unit. With this, I had my own washroom and shower. I was very happy to now have any roommates to disturb my sleep. 
     For pain control, I was given dilaudid through my IV, that was controlled by a button that I could push once every 6 minutes for another dose. They also gave me saline and an antibiotic (to prevent infection) through my IV. 
     I had a catheter tube in,  which was a blessing and a curse because I was stuck in bed but I was a bit sore and way too out of it to attempt any solo bathroom trips. 

     Family all piled into my room to visit and keep me company. When Robert came out of surgery a couple of hours later, they told me that his surgery went very well and that the kidney had started producing urine while they were attempting to get it all hooked up to him. GREAT NEWS – this meant that the kidney was immediately working! 

     Everyone went home that evening and Robert and I were doing well. Neither of us were allowed to be up and walking, let alone going to see each other, but we texted between our many naps throughout the evening and we spoke on the phone for a few minutes to say our good nights before bed. 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

